TIER 1 Exceptional Talent

This section explains whether and how you can come to the UK under Tier 1 (Exceptional talent) of the points-based system.

Tier 1 (Exceptional talent) is for people who are internationally recognised as world leaders or potential world-leading talent in the fields of science and the arts, and who wish to work in the UK.

Before you apply, you must read the Tier 1 (Exceptional talent) policy guidance, which you can find on the right side of this page. The policy guidance is based on Part 6A of the Immigration Rules.

Do you need to Apply Under TIER 1 (Exceptional Talent)

Tier 1 (Exceptional talent) is part of our points-based system, which is for migrants from outside Europe. You do not need to apply under the points-based system if:

  • You are a national of a country in the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland;
  • You are a British overseas territories citizen, unless you are from one of the sovereign base areas in Cyprus;
  • You are a Commonwealth citizen with permission to enter or stay in the UK because at least one of your grandparents was born here; or
  • You have no conditions or time limit attached to your stay.


Limit on TIER 1 (Exceptional Talent) Application

The UK government has limited the number of applications that can be made under Tier 1 (Exceptional talent)

Every initial application must be endorsed by a 'designated competent body'. There is a limit of 1,000 endorsements between 6 April 2012 and 5 April 2013.

The endorsements will be assigned to the designated competent bodies in 2 phases: 500 will be available from 6 April 2012 to 30 September, and the second 500 from 1 October 2012 to 5 April 2013. The total will be divided between the designated competent bodies as follows:

Designated competent body Total endorsements Until 30 September 2012 From 1 October 2012 to 5 April 2013
Royal Society 300 150 150
Arts Council England 300 150 150
British Academy 200 100 100
Royal Academy of Engineering 200 100 100

The number of endorsements available will be divided between each of the designated competent bodies in that field, as agreed between the Home Secretary and those bodies.